Maybe I like my glass half empty… It keeps me busy looking for more water.

9 Mar

A similar relationship to myself and Missouri.

My name is Lauren and I come from a small city in midwest america. Do I belong? No. Do I need to get out? Yes. And ‘how?’ is a question I ask myself hourly. Having escaped before, but sucked back into the black hole of Missouri, without a definite answer, here I am starting my first blog, escaping my reality through the channel of my mind, imagination, and the painful realization of my posession of powerful opinions, independence, and harsh judgments.

Why you ask have I decided to share these characteristics with the world?… (or most likely myself and my mother. Hi Mom.) Because I am bored out of my mind.  I have recently entered the work world and wondering if this is it??!? I have lot’s of opinions… many that corporate America has no time for. Coming out of school (again… I recently obtained a master’s degree) in a difficult economy, I find my aspirations less than realistic, but still vividly obtainable in my dreams.

Working your whole life for what?… to die. Having studied abroad numerous times, I appreciate the rest of the world’s motto, work to live not live to work. But why work at all? The American dream has presented itself to the lucky several, but what about the rest of the millions going into the office day after day and watching the money go out day after day through houses, cars and children. Gross. Is this really a dream? A bad one I think!

So here I am getting my kick in life writing about nothing… and loving every minute of it. I hope you do too other infinite black hole known as the world wide web. We each have a voice and the internet has given a channel for it. Thank you to whoever you are that invented it… which, after consulting google, is arguable. 😉

3 Responses to “Maybe I like my glass half empty… It keeps me busy looking for more water.”

  1. Mr WordPress March 9, 2011 at 5:15 PM #

    Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Sarah March 9, 2011 at 3:06 PM #

    I so hate the concept of working your whole life for the slim possibility of having lots of money. The American dream is actually totally sad. You’ll live it right when you get to Spain- they are some super relaxed people. 🙂

  3. Cris March 10, 2011 at 4:41 AM #

    Lauren!!! Escape from all!!! Come to Spain!!!!
    Greets from Madrid!!

Leave a Reply

