I smell spring… Gardening anyone?

10 Mar

Spring is just around the corner and with all these rediculous gas prices going up and no end in sight there means only one thing: food prices are going to go up as well.

So what better way to save your bank account and work on your tan? Gardening of course. I live in the midwest where space is plentiful and boredom is overwhelming. I’m not one of those “lay by the pool kinda girls.” I get antsy after about 30 seconds. Not to mention my fair skin gets a serious “bitch I’m burning!” attitude with me if it’s visited the sun for an overextended period of time without shade. 

Thank goodness I am on a mission to have a gardening hat in my posession that takes up a radius almost equivalent to the sun’s.  See exhibit A. If you find one call me!

Exhibit A

 

So onto my handy dandy gardening tips I have researched after me and my mother made a pact to take our greenness one step further. Actually, I am not green at all. For example, recycling confuses me so I just never take part and I know for certain that anything with the term organic on its label is guaranteed to be 1.5 times more expensive than the other options, so I have removed the word from my vocabulary completely. However, I do know that eggs coming directly from a chicken I see daily taste better than the ones that magically appear in the grocery store (not to mention the two are completely different colors… scary) and after watching Food Inc., knowing where my food is coming from sounds ok to me!

Really my tips at the moment are limited, but I will continue my research and hopefully there will be some trial and error in the future. Knowing me, however, more error. 😉

Tip one: Pest reducer

 In a jar, combine 1 teaspoon dishwashing liquid and 1 cup vegetable oil. Shake vigorously. In an empty spray bottle, combine 2 teaspoons of this mixture and 1 cup water. Use at ten-day intervals (or more often if needed) to rid plants of whiteflies, mites, aphids, scales, and other pests.

Tip two: When to grow what.

Spring- Rasberries, Strawberries, Peas (Like cooler weather),Onions, Broccoli (MUST be well watered), Arugula (best in cool, grow in anything)

After Frost- Sweet Potatoes, Corn (needs lots of water), Squash/ Zucchini, Peppers (need warm soil to grow faster-summer!), Cucumbers (must have good  water drainage) Carrots (like sandy soil), Basil

Wow those are some intense tips right? So get your hoe out (not those kind!) and start planting!

Leave a Reply

