Bethenny Frankel: Bathtub Pool Party Cures the Birthday Blues

5 Apr

Last night on ‘Bethenny Ever After’ I discovered that I am not alone.

Bethenny Frankel had a complete meltdown on her 40th birthday. AND it had nothing to do with the fact that she was 40, it was just because it was her birthday. She discussed how she hates having the forced attention and how it causes so much tension and anxiety and I COMPLETELY agree!! All eyes are on you when it’s your big day and it is completely stressful.

I’ll be the first to admit I love having attention based on things I do or funny quips I make, but not just for being born. There is this underlying pressure that you have to act a certain way and react a certain way and it is the most terrible thing ever!! It’s completely indescribable how much of an uncontrollable nutcase one can become with this tension. You love people who are close to you and them making a big deal out of your birthday can just send you over the edge. You have no idea why and it’s absolutely nothing against them it is just all in your head. There is 364 days of tension buildup scheduled to release on the 365th day to such an exent people wonder if you need to be committed (most likely, yes).

Bethenny’s struggles last night hit home so hard it was hilarious. Every time she started crying or the blows kept coming with the attention (a bottle rocket cake anyone?) I decided more and more that Bethenny and I would get along fantastically.

If this doesn't say "Look at me" nothing does.

Ultimately, Birthdays suck and the best cure is obviously a bathtub pool party like Bethenny’s. 🙂

To see the meltdown in action: http://www.bravotv.com/bethenny-ever-after/season-2/videos/birthday-breakdown

2 Responses to “Bethenny Frankel: Bathtub Pool Party Cures the Birthday Blues”

  1. Mom April 5, 2011 at 12:24 PM #

    does this mean I need to order a really big bathtub this year?

  2. Mom April 5, 2011 at 12:28 PM #

    please do I need time to prepare there’s alot of pressure on my end too

Leave a Reply

