Stalk Your Way To Style.

6 Apr

I was born with a budget. I never understood the girls that could walk into a store and pay full price for something?!?! If I paid full price for something, that would be the only something I could get for a few months.

I am a fan of quantity AND quality and the two together does exist, you just have to be crafty.

I figured I would give some tips for shopping with a limited supply of money. This post is not for the Paris Hilton’s of the world, it’s for the struggling college student, or poor money manager, or shopaholic. I shockingly fall into all of these categories, but have high end taste, so I know what I am talking about. Stalking is the name of the game.

Tip One: NEVER EVER pay full price.

When I say this I mean never even LOOK at full price because you’ll probably fall in love and start scheming how you can eat ramen noodles for the next three months to make up for it. Go STRAIGHT to the clearance and cover your eyes on the way. If you do look, only do because it will be on the clearance rack in a few months.

Tip Two: Look for Red.

Clearance is always marked with red signs and they are always highly visible. They usually are located in the back of the store, but oftentimes the sale signs can be tricky and be located on the opposite side of full price or right at the front of the store. They want to get rid of this stuff. Always go for the highest marked discount and work your way down. So say you have an 80% off rack then 70% then 50%. If you see the prices at the 80% off rack you are less inclined to be willing to pay the higher prices for the 50% off stuff because it seems “pricey.” You can get 5 things at 80% off versus one thing at 50%. Also, if it is already a discount store, like Nordstrom Rack… they STILL will have a clearance section. It’s like clearance of the clearance. It’s like the lottery… but way better.

Tip Three: Always bring Cash.

If you bring cash only, you can only spend what you have. If you bring $20 then you will have to be choosier about what you purchase and you are more likely to be happy with it for a longer period of time. Also, you will get the shopping jitters out of your system, but still have money for gas to get to work the next day. If $20 is too much bring $10. As long as you leave with something purchased in your hand you will feel accomplished (even if it’s only nail polish). I don’t spend over $10 on any item UNLESS it is designer, very high quality versus the price, a one of a kind piece I know will stop crowds ,or solid basics I can wear a million times over. I just got out of serious credit card debt… charging is not a smart move in the fashion game.

Tip Four: Run through your wardrobe to make sure what you are buying is not a duplicate.

The last thing you need is ten white t-shirts. It’s a bitch to move and the goal is to have a versatile wardrobe. For example, if you have ten of the same thing, odds are you are going to wear your favorite of the ten every time and the remaining nine rejects will be sitting in your closet, unused and a noticeable waste of money.

Tip Five: Make sure the quality is there.

It doesn’t matter if it’s $10 and is going to only be able to be worn 1 time. Compare the current sale price to what it was originally. If it was $30 to start off with and is now $20 that’s not a good deal. A piece starting off that low means its not a piece that will last a fair amount of time. You want a big difference between the starting price and the sale price. It means more bang for your buck!

I once got a Michael Kors trench coat for $50 that started off around $2,900. These price achievements take dedication, they take stalking, they take patience, and they take being smart about shopping to a whole new level. You WILL feel accomplished after snagging a great deal, it’s an adrenaline rush.

Remember the best time to find your inner shopper is when a brand new season is hitting stores. So right about now!

You can do it!!

My top places to find great deals are Nordstrom Rack, JCPenney, Kohls, H & M, Zara, and TJMaxx.

3 Responses to “Stalk Your Way To Style.”

  1. Sarah April 8, 2011 at 4:40 AM #

    Good tips! I am the worst shopper ever so I’ll try to keep it in mind. 😀

  2. Erin April 23, 2011 at 12:16 AM #

    Lauren!! Don’t be mad a me but this is the first blog entry I read…

    and let me just tell you…

    you are amazing, hilarious and smart!!!

    I can’t wait to read more.

    I just had happy hour with Anya and Jake and your blog is the perfect to my Friday night.

    Love you!

    xoxo

    • Erin April 23, 2011 at 12:17 AM #

      end ** :):)

Leave a Reply

