The Fragility in High Fashion

8 Aug

One of my friends forwarded me this article the other day about VERY young high fashion child models in sometimes suggestive and always very mature advertisements and I have waited to post on it until I decide what I think about it. But I’m pretty torn. The fashion lover/childfree side of me likes a well dressed child with a little style thrown in… (hell just a kid who will stand still is awesome in itself.) Clean and stylish isn’t something you see in your daily rugrat/pains in the asses, kicking and screaming in Target, that one normally encounters with children. I also like the art of it… how the children look very mature, but innocent in the designer clothes. They bring about a new look for a very high-end concept. It’s like high and low shopping in a photograph.

Then reality kicks in and I think “holy crap our society is out of control.” These kids might be worse off than Toddlers and Tiara’s because their reality is a bit more of a reality. Tots + Tiara’s can only go so far and only put on so much blush, eyeliner, tulle, and fake lashes. But high-end models…you start at ten you are a millionaire by 11 1/2 with a solid decade of a career left. Talk about an ego boost through the terrible tweens.  But these girls are so young, and do they know what is being inflicted onto them at such a young age, or is that maturity saved for strictly behind the cameras and a childhood is still existent? I feel like this is very similar to the recent story of Leo the soccer prodigy who just signed on to Real Madrid or Jackie Evancho the 11 year opera star. No matter your age, should skills/talent/beauty be utilized whenever they are presented to the lucky few?

Either way it has to be confusing and, honestly, even after writing about it I still don’t know how I feel. Maybe because I don’t know what it’s like to be a mother or what it’s like to be a ten-year old fashion model on the cover of Vogue. But I know if I had a choice I would pick the latter… however, at the age of 25, the additional 15 years given to come to that conclusion is what’s really important, isn’t it?

2 Responses to “The Fragility in High Fashion”

  1. thegeeman August 8, 2011 at 7:20 PM #

    This child explotation. I don’t like it. It is wrong. This is sick. It is wrong. One question why is this listed under soccer or futebol. What does thios have to do with the beautiful game?

  2. eurobrat August 8, 2011 at 9:05 PM #

    I do think these kids will probably be messed up when they’re older, but no more messed up than child sitcom actors or piano prodigies, and we accept that. Should kids be protected from using their talents in public at a young age? That’s a difficult question — I do think we would lose out on a lot that way.

Leave a Reply

